If You Want the Best, Hire the Vest
Olathe DUI Defense Attorney
Advocating for Accused Drivers Throughout Johnson County
If you have been stopped or arrested for driving under the influence in Olathe, the first thing you should do is seek legal counsel. Time is of the essence when it comes to DUI cases, and law enforcement will only try to get you to admit something that can be used against you. Before you answer any questions from the police, you have the right to consult an attorney. Don’t risk potential jail time and the loss of your driving privileges when I can assert your rights as a driver and as a defendant. Whether you have a case for dismissed charges or just reduced charges, I can help you craft a strategic argument for the protection of your rights.
Let’s get you safely back on the road. Schedule a free initial consultation with The Law Offices of Tel Parrett to get started. Serving Johnson County, including Lenexa, Overland Park, and Shawnee.
What Constitutes a DUI in Kansas?
In Kansas, it is illegal for a motorist to operate or attempt to operate a motor vehicle while they:
- have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more (.04% or more for commercial drivers and .02% or more for drivers under 21 years old); or
- are under the influence of drugs or alcohol to the extent that it renders them incapable of safely operating the vehicle.
Motorists can also be charged with driving under the influence even if they were not actually driving. A DUI is defined as operating or attempting to operate a vehicle while under the influence; the courts have interpreted this to include any act to engage the vehicle, so actual movement of the vehicle is not required for a charge.
Penalties for DUI
The penalties for a DUI charge will depend on the circumstances of the offense and whether the driver has any prior convictions:
- 1st offense – 48 hours to 6 months in jail; up to $1,000 in fines; 30 days of license suspension (1 year if the driver had a BAC of .15% or more); ignition interlock device (IID) use for 180 days (1 year if the driver had a BAC of .15% or more)
- 2nd offense – 5 days to 12 months in jail; up to $1,750 in fines; 1 year of license suspension; 1 year of IID use (2 years if the driver had a BAC of .15% or more)
- 3rd offense – 90 days to 1 year in jail; up to $2,500 in fines; 1 year of license suspension; 2 years of IID use (3 years if the driver had a BAC of .15% or more)
Kansas also implements “implied consent” rules, which require all drivers who have been lawfully arrested for a DUI to submit to a blood or breath test. Those who refuse testing will face a 1-year license suspension, as well as IID use for 2 years (1st refusal), 3 years (2nd refusal), or 4 years (3rd refusal).
DUI charges are not uncommon, and I have a range of experience handling these kinds of cases. If you have been arrested or stopped for a DUI, contact me as soon as possible to get started on your defense. The sooner you work on your case, the sooner we can get you back on the road. I will make sure you understand your rights as a driver and as a defendant, and I will craft a strategic defense based on your unique circumstances.
Whether this is your first DUI accusation or subsequent charge, The Law Offices of Tel Parrett can help you. Schedule a free initial consultation with me today to get started.
Reasons Tel parrett Stands Apart
15 Years of Legal Experience
Skilled & Capable Legal Counsel
Highly Accessible & Responsive to Clients
Effective Communication Throughout Your Case